Skip to content

New Resolve


The time for New Year’s resolutions is upon us.  It’s a bit silly for me to make special yearly resolutions, since I’m a list-writer and a goal-setter and I am awash with goals most of the time.  My goals always fall into the same broad categories:

Family
Work
Fitness
Finances
Fun

Now that I am self-employed as an “artisan,” Work is really a combination of Fun and Finances.  I suppose I could reassign my Work goals into the Fun and Finances categories and then it would be The Four Fs.  You see?  It’s not healthy.

Anyhow.  Each of these categories has about a dozen subcategories and each subcategory has a few dozen bulleted points (I will spare you the details).  As I go along accomplishing things and crossing them off my list, I like to add new things at approximately double that rate, just to keep me on my toes.  That is because the goal just dreamed up is always more exciting than the one I’m already working on (I inherited this trait from my dad, by the way). I end up at the bottom of the list, having done many things, but having skipped a lot of good stuff in the middle.  I am the classic cliché…  the juggler with too many balls in the air who is always dropping something.

So this year, my resolution is to keep my resolutions in check.  To whittle away at the bulleted points, reject the things that will get in the way, to whack-a-mole the many diversions that will pop their fuzzy little heads up throughout the year, and spend my time on what is truly precious to my heart.

Most of the time.

This post has been part of the Etsy Metal Blog Carnival.  Check out the Resolutions of a few other team members:

Lou Hunter
Laura Jane Bouton
2Roses
Deborah Lee Taylor
Theresa Kwong
Danielle Miller
Nodeform
Silent Goddess

Back to School

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

