Skip to content

Back to School


Back to school is an actual event here in our household for the first time since I graduated from college. Our just-barely-four year old started preschool, and her preschool is housed in a large elementary school. Each morning, my tiny daughter and I navigate the throngs of hollering children to find her classroom. Here is a portrait she drew of the two of us going to school in the morning. It’s a strikingly accurate rendition of the event.

In my mind, I tell her things like, “Yes love, you really are the tiniest child here. These 4th grade boys could eat you for lunch, and the big girls with their glittering backpacks and sleek hairdos really are ignoring you. You are just a baby, you know. Welcome to school – your life for the next 14 – 20 years. You are going to love it here.”

It’s a big change. There have been some growing pains.

In the studio, though business rolls on at a languid pace, I can just make out a distinct thrumming sound, getting more noticeable every day. It sounds like this: Christmas is coming, Christmas is coming, Christmas is coming…..

Milo Winter, 1919

The season of giving is barreling down upon us, which means that the season of making is now. It’s like the old fable of the ant and the grasshopper. Those who are busy working their hearts out, stowing and stashing, building and hoarding, are going to live large come December. Those fools who are lulled into soaking up the autumn sunlight and growing fat on the fall harvest will be very sorry indeed once the turkey gets the chop.

Who am I in this story… ant or grasshopper?  Well.  I can’t really hide the tan.  Let’s just say that I am trying to strike a healthy balance.

On the horizon:

Necklaces – Men love to give women necklaces for Christmas, and I intend to help.
Bracelets – a big heavy sterling cuff inspired by an antique from my grandmother.
Classics – sapphires, diamonds, pearls. I need more of them in my life.
Pie – Oh yes, my apple pie is the VERY best.

Enjoy the season!

This post was inspired by the Team Etsy Metal Blog Carnival.  Check out what “Back to School” means for these folks:

2Roses

Silent Goddess

Anne Walker

Laura Jane Bouton

Evelyn Markasky

Abella Blue

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thank you for starting the morning by putting a huge smile on my face. The drawing is fantastic – you’ve got a real artist on your hands! And you’re so right – I’d better get busy – my worker bees are missing and there’s so much hoarding still to be done! :)

    October 1, 2012
    • Did you notice our matching turtleneck sweaters? And my glasses are a very realistic touch :) I’m so proud of this little munchkin that sometimes my heart could burst.
      And yes, where ARE my busy bees? Out in the garden, apparently….

      October 1, 2012
  2. Anne Walker #

    I love that drawing! You should look for the book “Kindergarten Diary” about a girl who is a little nervous about starting school, and a little afraid of the “big kids.” It’s a really cute story.

    October 2, 2012
  3. That really is a great school story! And I love the portrait!
    I don’t really want to think about the grasshopper and the ant story!!

    October 15, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Back To School : Etsy Metal Blog Carnival | Abella Blue

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

